Ubuntu

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hey guys,

currently, on my computer, I am running windows vista home premium. I don not have virtual box installed and I really want to get Ubuntu on my computer without getting rid of Windows Vista, would I need to install virtualbox, also, do I need to have Linux to run Ubuntu, or are they completely different things?

As you can probably tell, I am really new to all of this "getting a new OS on your computer type stuff"

So can someone please explain everything to me?

Thanks,
Jordan

O

opensource_archive

Hi Jordan
If you burn the ISO image of Ubuntu to a CD/DVD you can do a WUBI install, which installs Ubuntu inside Windows as a child Operating System, Vista will not be affected and you can uninstall it as if it were a Windows Application.

If you dont have a CD spare then use the Daemon tools to mount the ISO image.

Ok if you want to install a new Opearting system on your PC, then generally you need to partition your Hard Disk. In other words seperating the hard Disk into 2 parts, 3 parts etc. You can install Another Operating system onto another partition, and keep Vista on the main partition. With two Operating systems installed you get a choice at Boot which one you wish to boot, as you cant have two Opearting systems running at the same time.

But with Linux distributions they install a Boot manager called GRUB for example (In debians case) and not the MS Boot Manager. Linux has two partitions for one Operating system. One ext3 which is the main filesystem and a SWAP AREA partition (Both non-detectable by Windows). This can cause damage to Recovery partitions if done incorrectly. Installing a Linux system on OEM machines can have a bad affect. e.g. TATTOO of a Packard Bell being wiped.

Hope this helps Jordan.

Reactions
0 0 0